Missouri AHEC

Program Offices

The Missouri AHEC Program Offices at A. T. Still University, University of Missouri, and Saint Louis University are the academic side of the academic-community partnership that makes the Missouri AHEC a unique and effective healthcare workforce development program. The ATSU AHEC Program Office leads the federal/state grants and contracts partially supporting MAHEC statewide activities.

What We Do

Coordinate and support Missouri AHEC Scholars program

Offer programs that encourage primary care choice and practice in underserved rural and urban communities

Manage MAHEC statewide grants and contracts

Support university-based  interprofessional education programs

Administer the statewide MAHEC program

Facilitate community-based medical student clinical training

Get in Touch with the Program Offices


A.T. Still University
Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine

800 W. Jefferson Street
Kirksville, MO 63501


Email: teresaleatherman@atsu.adu

AHEC Deputy Director
Teresa Leatherman, MHA


Saint Louis University School of Medicine
Dept. of Family and Community Medicine

1402 South Grand
St. Louis, MO 63104


Email: carissa.vandenberkclark@health.slu.edu

Deputy Director SLU Area Health Education Center
Carissa van den Berk-Clark, PhD LMSW


University of Missouri-Columbia
School of Medicine

Patient Centered Care Learning Center
Third Floor, LC #337
1 Hospital Drive DC018.00


Email: porterjl@health.missouri.edu

Director, Rural Scholars
Jana Lee